Frustration!

I think it was when I was suckered into joining Facebook that I began to really feel like I needed to write down how I was feeling and express my frustration with too much technology, too many gadgets and too much computer in my life. The relentless push forward to go faster and faster and faster somehow triggers the feeling in me that I just need to slow down.

Facebook seems to have evolved into what was once the cell phone – where without it, social and professional lives can suffer. I guess even an e-mail invitation doesn’t suffice so much anymore, just post it on facebook. Sociologists might call me a “late adoptor” while its all those “early adoptors” that push the markets, demand and eventually people like me to adopt just to stay afloat. I’m not “tech-tarded,” as a friend of mine calls the technologically challenged, rather I’m just more interested in living in my environment, in the REAL world,  not through gadgets or whatever version of myself I create on the internet.

As a person who came of age along with the Internet, I’m no stranger to, nor a hater of the World Wide Web. But it does make me nuts sometimes. Watching CNN is no longer watching news … it’s watching reporters tell you every three seconds to check out their Twitter feed, join a Facebook group, submit a question, send a photo, etc. What’s with all the viewer engagement? How about engage me with super star reporting?

That said, seemingly with no choice anyway but to join the masses in at least some way, I figure it is still important to keep touch with our fellow humans through interaction, friendships, family relationships and a plethora of non-Internet activities (many activities of which I plan to pursue and report on to “keep it real” in this blog).  My intention is to encourage others to do the same, to log off and slow down.

Logging out now…

